summertime and staying hydrated

Summer has made her presence known. After a mild few weeks, it appears that the heat is here to stay.

Temps  in NYC have been in the mid-90’s with high levels of humidity. Just gross. Frizzy hair, sweaty faces, stinky subway rides – the whole deal.

Can you feel the heat?

Can you feel the heat?

Those of you who know me, know that I never leave home without my Sigg full of water. If I don’t have a bottle of water on me at all times, I feel naked. I’ve been like this since middle school, my friends used to make fun of me but now they realize that I was just ahead of my time 🙂

my most trusted companion

my most trusted companion

Not everyone has the same obsession with hydration that I do. So, I’d like to take this opportunity to stress the importance of keeping hydrated, especially during these hot days when we might be sweating more than usual.

Hydration is one of the often overlooked elements of nutrition. Our bodies are comprised of more than 60% water and maintaining this level is important for regulating body temperature, nutrient transport, digestion, respiration and many other bodily functions.

cup of water

Waiting until you feel thirsty means you are already somewhat dehydrated. We should be drinking water consistently throughout the day. You can also try incorporating high water content foods into each meal to sneak hydration into your body in other ways (this counts too). Foods such as cucumber, celery, bell peppers, watermelon, and citrus fruits are great choices.

water content fruits and veg

If you are exercising, to compensate for sweat lost, try to drink about 8 oz of water every 15 minutes during exercise. Post-workout, you should drink another 16 to 24 oz of water to replenish what has been lost from sweating.  Personally, I am a big fan of coconut water for post-workout rehydration as it can help replace some of the minerals and electrolytes that have been lost through sweat. Coconut water is a low-sugar, all-natural source of potassium, sodium and magnesium. However, most other flavored sports drinks and vitamin-enhanced waters tend to be full of empty calories with little to no health benefit.

Other tips for staying hydrated:

  • Keep a bottle handy at all times – it will remind you to drink! ! (on your desk, in your bag, while you watch tv)
  • Freeze pieces of fruit in ice cubes and add them to your water for a little flavor
  • Add a slice of lemon for some zing and alkalizing benefits

I have been brewing green tea at home and chilling it so I have some cold iced tea as my afternoon pick me up. I got into a bad habit of going to Starbucks and realized that paying over $2 for an iced green tea was just silly.

Feel free to share any tips you use to remind yourself to drink water during the day!

Stay Cool!

1 Comment

Filed under Nutrition Tips, NYC

One response to “summertime and staying hydrated

  1. Lindsay

    Great tip! I definitely didn’t realize that drinking water during exercise was recommended! Will try it out!

Leave a Reply

