a refreshing smoothie for Monday morning

Good Morning friends!

Hope everyone enjoyed the weekeend. I did. I worked a little, saw some friends and on Saturday I ran in the 5 mile NYRR Pride Run. It was a great race, lots of spirit and an overall good time.

the crowd before the race

the crowd before the race

 

 

However, I was somewhat dehydrated going into the race and it was super humid, so by the end I was definitely feeling it.

It seemed like no matter what I did for the rest of the weekend, I was thirsty! Even now, Monday morning, I’m still craving hydrating, thirst-quenching food and drink. Perhaps it’s due to the continued humidity and overall gross weather conditions we are having. Nonetheless, I decided to put together a refreshing green smoothie for breakfast this morning and just went with my gut and what sounded good to me.

Here is what I added:

  • a few chunks of frozen pineapple
  • a few chunks of frozen banana
  • 1-inch section of ginger
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 2 large handfuls of kale
  • 1/2 a seedless cucumber
  • a few stalks of celery
  • water
celery, lemon, cukes, ginger

celery, lemon, cukes, ginger

Blended together and voila! It was exactly what I was craving. Filling and refreshing. As you can see I am not big on measuring or using a recipe, I just throw in what I have and if its too thick I add more water. Too sweet, more greens. Not sweet enough, more fruit, etc.

before the blend

I think this one is a winner, if I do say so myself. Not only does it taste great but it has a pretty good nutritional profile.

 

Nutritional Benefits

  • Kale – fiber, rich in vitamins and minerals
  • Ginger –  anti-inflammatory,  good for digestion
  • Lemon – alkalizing, cleansing, good source a vitamin C
  • Pineapple – good source of digestive enzymes (bromelain)
  • Cucumber – antioxidants, anti-inflammatory
  • Celery – fiber, good for digestion
Cheers!

Cheers!

Cheers!

Happy Monday!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition Tips, What I'm Eating

Leave a Reply

