Breakfast on the Go

For the most part, I am a planner. I guess you could call me “Type A”. I like to be prepared, show up early, and make to-do lists.  However, when it comes to train travel, somehow I am always running out the door five minutes late, disheveled, arriving at the station breathless, with my scarf dragging on the floor, and sweating despite the fact that it is 30 degrees outside.

True story.

In fact that happened just a few hours ago.

If I had planned better, I would have finished packing last night, woken up earlier, made coffee and eaten breakfast at home. But no, none of that happened.

Thus, I arrived at Penn Station with precious few minutes to spare before boarding my train and I had a quick decision to make – how and where to obtain caffeine and food before my train departed.

 

penn station

 

I ran to Starbucks and grabbed coffee and a banana (short line, shockingly). Because I am sometimes prepared, I knew I had a Kind Bar in my bag (if I didn’t then I probably would have bought one there or a bag of the plain almonds that Starbucks sells). I also happened to have half of a green juice from yesterday that I managed to toss in my bag before running out the door.

Here you have my haphazard mix of a breakfast.

breakfast 2.7

Some protein, carbs, fruits, vegetables, and healthy fats; not too bad and pretty satisfying.

I heartily believe in the value of eating breakfast. Personally, I enjoy it but also because so many studies have shown that people who eat breakfast maintain a healthier body weight than those who skip. It has also been shown to provide fuel for the day, enhance performance at work or school, provide better endurance for exercise, and help people maintain healthier cholesterol levels.

 Some other ideas for a quick breakfast if you are in a similar situation:

  • Skim latte, piece of fruit, and plain almonds from Starbucks
  • If you have time, wrap a piece of whole wheat toast with almond butter in foil and toss it in your bag with a piece of fruit
  • One scrambled egg on wheat toast (unbuttered) with a slice of tomato from a to-go restaurant or deli
  • A hard-boiled egg and a piece of fruit

Generally I suggest avoiding yogurt parfaits – they have a healthy halo but tend to be really high in sugar (the ones at Starbucks all have more than 30 grams of sugar and only 4 grams of fiber or less).  You could make a much healthier parfait with a Chobani or Fage and handful of low sugar cereal.

For example: plain fat free Chobani + ½ cup Kashi Go Lean + ½ cup blueberries  + 1 tsp honey

The total amount of sugar in this combination is approximately 18 g, with much more protein and fiber than the store-bought parfait.

 

What are some of your go-to travel staples?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition Tips, Travel, What I'm Eating

Leave a Reply

