Super Bowl Sunday

As with many holidays and special occasions, Super Bowl Sunday is as much about the food as it is about the event itself. With the big game tomorrow, I thought I’d share a few tried and true tips on how to enjoy the festivities without turning the day into a Calorie Bowl.

Super_Bowl_XLVII_logo

 

Healthy Eating Tips for Super Bowl Sunday

1. Do not arrive hungry.

Eat a healthy meal before you show up at the bar or house party or wherever you will be watching the game. That way you will be able to enjoy some of the denser-calorie foods in moderation and still feel satisfied.

2. Bring your own food.

If you are going to a house party, be the best guest and bring a healthy option for everyone to snack on.

3. Stay hydrated.

Maintaining hydration is key for so many reasons but it helps increase satiety. Sometimes thirst can be misinterpreted as hunger and we can overeat if we are not properly hydrated.

4. Watch the game.

Mingle! Take a time-out from the food to enjoy the festivities.

5. Avoid eating from the container or bowl.

Use small plates. We tend to consume more if we eat straight from the bowl of chips & dip because it is easier to mindlessly keep eating. Try to portion out a reasonable serving on to a small plate.

6. Eat consciously.

Think about the foods you really enjoy but do not usually eat, and treat yourself to normal sized portion and enjoy!

 

If all else fails, just listen to Beyonce and dance it off.

beyonce

6 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Nutrition Tips

6 responses to “Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Mike J

    good advice Sarah! Hopefully it won’t be left to my dance moves to be a little healthy tomorrow…

  2. Lindsay

    Great ideas! I will use your small plate idea instead of parking my behind next to the buffalo wings! Cheers to moderation and Go Steelers! (I wish)

  3. MY

    Since I’m not really into either team playing tomorrow, I would def concentrate on the eating! I’m really bad at hydrating. Great advice on dehydration causing hunger. So true especially sweet stuff for me!

  4. Alyssa

    I eat a cheese stick before any restaurant meal or party. It always takes the edge off so I do not arrive ravenous!

  5. Allison

    Snacking before events helps me so much. Great tips!

  6. Kat

    Great tips, Sarah! These are really helpful. I personally always try to get some physical activity in the morning since I could be sitting for most of the second half of the day. Hydration, snacks beforehand, and mindful eating, allows me to still enjoy the festivities and not feel deprived. Some of my friends used to purposely not eat all day so they could “save up” their calories for the party. Hmmmm, not the right choice at all!

Leave a Reply

