Taming the Sweet Tooth

For as long as I can remember, I have always had a sweet tooth.

I absolutely cannot relate to people who would rather have a cheese board than dessert.

That blows my mind.

 

 

Even when I am eating my healthiest and loading up on fresh, wholesome foods I still need just a little something sweet after dinner. My tastes have definitely changed as my eating habits have evolved, and the sugary treats I used to enjoy don’t bring the same enjoyment. Some of my old favorites can even make me feel a little ill when I indulge these days (my sister has witnessed this first-hand).

That being said, I still find myself craving a sweet treat and have come up with some alternatives that I can enjoy without feeling like I’ve consumed an entire day’s worth of sugar all at once.

Here are a couple of the treats I enjoy in case you are looking for some options:

  • Whole grain toast spread with almond butter and cinnamon
  • A few pieces of dried mango (unsulfured, unsugared)
  • One small square of dark chocolate
  • ¼ cup granola
  • Coconut water
  • Herbal tea (see below)

I recently discovered this tea –

photo

To be honest, it’s a little pricey, but it is so good! If you like coconut I highly recommend it. The cocoa flavor is not that strong – which is fine for me since I am not a huge chocolate person.

I’ve been drinking a cup at night with a splash of almond milk. It is just sweet enough to satisfy the craving and having a hot cup of tea during these cold nights has been so nice!

3 Comments

Filed under Nutrition Tips, Product Review, What I'm Eating

3 responses to “Taming the Sweet Tooth

  1. Lindsay

    Conundrum…. I am also a big sweet tooth, particularly of the chocolate variety! But I don’t like dark chocolate, only milk! What is the best way to indulge my chocolate cravings in the most healthy way (without dark chocolate!)

  2. Allison

    I definitely have a sweet tooth also. To help with my sweet cravings I like to freeze bananas or grapes!

  3. Amy

    This is great advice, especially since dessert can be a tough thing to work into an organic diet. Coconut ice cream is a favorite of mine, but it tends to be high in saturated fat. Is soy ice cream a better alternative, or is it too processed?

Leave a Reply

