Winter Squash

As the weather gets colder and we start to approach the holidays, my diet shift a bit. I start craving different foods and as certain fruits and vegetables come into season ,and it’s fun to change up the meal routine a bit, right?

A hot bowl of oatmeal is much more appealing on a cool morning (though I do love oatmeal anytime of year) and soups start to take over my normal lunchtime fare. Along with the addition of warming foods, I enjoy incorporating wintertime staples like pumpkin, butternut squash, and sweet potatoes into my meals.

I’ve been mixing in a generous scoop of pumpkin into my morning oatmeal – I like the idea of getting vegetables with my breakfast. Pumpkin is great because it is low in calories but a good source of fiber, vitamin A, some vitamin C and iron.

my new favorite oatmeal on the go

Then, other day I roasted a huge sweet potato – I sliced it up into wedges and put it onto a baking sheet that I had “painted” with coconut oil. The wedges lasted me for nearly 3 days; I snacked on them, ate them as a side dish and chopped some into a salad. So tasty.  Sweet potatoes are great for vitamins A and C, potassium, beta-carotene, potassium and fiber.

Last on my list of wintertime squash is the butternut. This guy I’ve been enjoying in the form of soup (store bought, but whatever). Similar to the others, it is high in fiber, vitamin A, has some vitamin C and other beneficial nutrients.

Which is your favorite wintertime vegetable?

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorite Foods, Nutrition Tips, What I'm Eating

Leave a Reply

