New Products

Back in March, I was lucky enough to attend the Natural Products Expo West in Anaheim. I really loved the whole experience. I was able to attend educational seminars, meet vendors, retailers, bloggers and other health-minded folk.

Most notably I attended a lecture by Dr. Andrew Weil.

Not so notably, I saw Fabio from a distance.

The days I was there were mostly spent walking through the convention center sampling new products. Many of these items were products that companies had in the testing phase or were planning on launching later in the year. It has been exciting all these months later see some of these foods popping up in grocery stores.

In my recap post (here) I talked about the prevalence of coconut and one of those products was an Almond-Coconut Milk blend. I recently saw it in the grocery store and picked up a carton.

It has been a nice change in taste and texture from the regular almond milk that I normally buy. I have been using it in my coffee in the morning and occasionally in oatmeal or cereal. I don’t find the coconut flavor to be too strong, it is just a bit thicker than regular almond milk so the consistency is nice.

Nutritionally it has:

  • 60 calories
  • 3 g fat
  • 6 g sugar
  • 1 g protein

(this is for the regular, unflavored version)

So, it depends on what you are looking for in a milk or milk alternative. For me, this works. Since I don’t use large servings, the calories, fat and sugar are negligible. I don’t rely on dairy products for protein and this has 50% more calcium than regular milk. That being said, it’s all about preference. If you drink tons of milk or milk alternatives, this might not be the best because it is higher in fat and it does have some (1g) of saturated fat from the coconut.

For product information, check out the Almond Breeze website

For more information about Fabio, check out his website

Leave a comment

Filed under Product Review

Leave a Reply

