DC Eats

While I was working in DC last month, I had the luxury of a (tiny) expense account which meant that I was able to indulge in some of my favorite foods. For me, this does not mean trips to fancy restaurants but instead, large(r) salads, fresh juice, venti coffees and stocking up at Whole Foods.

Different strokes for different folks.

DC is prettyDC is pretty.

So, what does a person like me eat when you go from a meager (my own) to a near limitless (there was definitely a limit but it was a heck of a lot more than I would normally spend on myself and I never maxed it out) budget?

a lot of these:

(Venti iced coffee, light ice, splash of soy milk)

And a few of these:

Ah, sweetgreen. There is nothing else like it. I believe this was a salad with mixed greens, spinach, chick peas, sweet potato, cherry tomato, spicy broccoli  and mushrooms. I had the “purify” sweetpress with my dinner and bought an “energize” to have for breakfast the next day – that’s where the expense account comes in. I wouldn’t ordinarily spend that much on juice, as much as I love it, it feels a bit like a luxury to me.

Another luxury was shopping at Whole Foods – I bought lunch and a few snacks there. Unlike most business trips, instead of going out to meals with coworkers, most of my meals were eaten at my desk while working or in my hotel room. So instead of ordering room service, I wanted to buy groceries at Whole Foods and have some fruit, bars and nuts on hand. Definitely a money and calorie saver.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under DC, What I'm Eating

Leave a Reply

