Amtrak Snacks

These days I have found myself living somewhat of a nomadic lifestyle. I’m somewhere in between DC, NYC and Delaware.  It has been a lot of living out of suitcases, meals out and depending on the generosity of others to open their homes to me (thanks, friends).

Needless to say it’s a bit disconcerting and has thrown off my normal schedule of eating and working out quite a bit. Not paying rent, on the other hand, is quite nice.

This morning I left for DC on an early train and due to my frequent travels, I am well aware that Amtrak hasn’t caught up to the times in regards to its food offerings. I always struggle when I find myself hungry on a long train ride and don’t really feel like there are any good options.

To avoid major hunger pangs, I either eat before I get on the train or bring my own food. This morning I knew I would want breakfast so I made a combination of overnight oats and chia pudding to bring with me. The healthy fats and fiber were substantial and satisfying enough to keep me full for the 2 hour ride (and a few hours after since I went straight to the office).

This combo is easy to make and it’s portable which makes it super convenient.

 

 

 

 

 

In the mix was:

  • 1 tb chia seeds
  • 2 tb oat bran
  • 2 tb chopped dried cherries
  • cinnamon & vanilla
  • almond milk – I just estimated, I poured some in and let it sit overnight then poured a bit more in this morning since it was pretty thick.

I know I am very particular about my food choices, but seriously, who wants to eat a microwaved hot dog served in a plastic bag? C’mon Amtrak.

Leave a comment

Filed under What I'm Eating

Leave a Reply

