Overnight Oats to Kick off a Busy Week

Today marks the beginning of the end.
In a good way.
I am one month away from graduation (!) and so today we receive our comprehensive exams. This means that I have two weeks to write up everything I have learned in the past 2 years. Easy enough, right?
Well, actually I am approaching it like I am about to enter a war zone. I spent the weekend stocking up on food. Trying to catch up on sleep. Exercising off the anxiety. Cleaning my apartment. Painting my nails.  Basically doing all the things  I won’t have time to do once I dive into this exam.

 

Knowing that I have a super busy week coming up as I was doing my food prep for the week, I tried to think about meals that would especially quick and easy to put together. Most mornings I make a green smoothie or oatmeal on the stove-top but I have a feeling that this week I am going to be rushing out the door with no time to prepare anything. So as I was shopping yesterday I picked up a some extra almond milk and fruit so I could make overnight oats.

 

Overnight oats are great because you can put them together the night before and have breakfast ready to go in the morning with very little prep time. Sometimes I’ll prepare them in Tupperware (like I did last night) and bring them with me to eat at work if I am running late (which happens frequently).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Overnight oats are simple – you just take any type of oatmeal (not instant) – old-fashioned oats, oat bran etc and mix it with your choice of milk and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Hence the name. I like to add in cinnamon, dried or fresh fruit but really you can add whatever appeals to your palate.

This particular bowl consisted of:

1/3  cup Bob’s Redmill High Fiber Hot Cereal (I just found this recently – it is a mix of whole grain oats, wheat bran, flaxseed meal, oat bran and wheat germ – I love the combo and that it has 10 g of fiber and 8 g of protein per 1/3 cup serving – see picture below)

1 tsp of chia seeds (great for omega 3’s and added volume for satiety)

3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk (you might need to add more in the morning if it looks too thick)

1/2 a banana (added in the morning)

Cinnamon

Vanilla extract

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(source)

1 Comment

Filed under Favorite Foods, What I'm Eating

One response to “Overnight Oats to Kick off a Busy Week

  1. Lindsay

    Time for a new post!!!

Leave a Reply

