Monday Morning Reboot

This past weekend was a mini college reunion, a bunch of my friends from New York came down to DC for the Georgetown-Villanova Basketball game. These big games are a great excuse for us all to get together and so many people came to town it really felt like a reunion. The weekend was full of fun times catching up with friends, dining out and drinking just a bit more than normal. After a few days of this, Monday morning tends to hit like a ton of bricks. I found it very difficult to pull myself out of bed this morning; I don’t seem to bounce back like I used to 😦

I felt like I needed an extra energy boost to get me going, but I am trying to cut back on my caffeine intake so instead of doubling up on the coffee I decided to pull out an extra-large lemon instead.

I have tried many times to swap out my morning coffee for hot water with lemon but I can’t seem to fully give up the addiction. Instead, I think I’ve reached a compromise and many days I’ll just have both, waiting to have coffee until a little later in the morning. I like to start my day with lemon water for a few reasons:

  • Hot water with lemon first thing will give your digestive system a kick-start; it wakes up your body and gets things moving
  • Lemons are naturally alkalizing and naturally bring balance to your body’s pH
  • Lemons are great for your liver which is key in removing toxins
  • Lemons are high in vitamin C, which is not only a powerful antioxidant but is thought to be good for your skin

On these mornings I also try to flood my system with nutrients in the form of a big green smoothie or a bunch of fresh fruit. There is no better way to get yourself energized and back on track with your normal healthy habits than to use healthy foods to nourish your body.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition Tips, What I'm Eating

Leave a Reply

